As I was writing in my journal this morning, I was listening to this song from Paul Cardell’s Chill Collection on Spotify. And I wondered. It seems to me that there is a sweetness….a holy sweetness that exists in life…that is captured in music.

Maybe it is in the vibration of the strings….or the drum head….or the air that is forced through a reed. Maybe that vibration..that wave of energy through space, plucks at our own heartstrings and sets them vibrating as it passes. That is when we say something “resonated” with us, because it truly did.

I think of music as a divine language, one that God uses to communicate with us, and that communication happens whether or not we are aware of it. But to be consciously aware that there is that connection between myself and the divine…well…it has the power to move me to tears….

