I was watching Super Soul Sunday on the OWN this morning as it was simulcast on Facebook and the OWN.com web page. Oprah was talking to don Miguel Ruiz about his book “The Four Agreements.” (If you have not read this book, I highly recommend it!) I thought that don Miguel was a very holy person…he seemed to be filled with light and love.

All day long, I have been contemplating my own path. How I have read books, listened to programs and podcasts, watched movies and documentaries from many religions and philosphies. I have listened to great religious leaders, and deeply spiritual teachers. On this journey, I noticed that many of the same believes were constant across the board, and some where polar opposites. I was (and still am) a voracious reader and interested in what others have to say.

Someone asked me a long time ago….at the beginning of my search for my own Truth, why did I listen to the truths of others? This person who was (and still is) a friend, was gently poking fun at me. I had no answer…but it did bring up the question for me, how will you ever learn about something if you don’t study about it? Some of those truths of others…resonated deeply within me and I thought…”Yes! That is TRUE.” Some of their truths did not make much of an impression on me. That doesn’t necessarily mean that it wasn’t true…but it wasn’t part of my soul’s truth. Those things still are valid to others and should be respected as such.

The Four Agreements are:

1. Be Impeccable with your Word: Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the Word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your Word in the direction of truth and love.

2. Don’t Take Anything Personally
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering.

3. Don’t Make Assumptions
Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.

4. Always Do Your Best
Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.

(Taken from the webpage http://www.toltecspirit.com/ )

They seem simple, but there is much power there.

Check Oprah’s website within a couple of days. Sometimes she replays the interviews there and you can watch them at no cost.

