“Emmanuel. Emmanuel.
His name is called, Emmanuel.
God with Us. Revealed in us.
His name is called, Emmanuel.”

I was typing the words to this song at work this morning.  It is a song that I have always liked. A small song. A simple song. Almost a prayer. But it wasn’t until I was typing the words that God sent me a revelation of what they really mean, that I fully understood their impact, and I was brought to tears.

One line. Three words.

“Revealed in us.”

My brain was swimming in imagery and scripture. “Then the Lord God formed a man[a] from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.” Gen. 2:7 NIV  From his own BREATH…God began the process of life. Revealing Himself to us through LIFE.

God is not something that you find outside of  yourself.  We are a part of God (God in us) …the breath of God, given unto the world.  Do we treat ourselves like we would treat God? How often have I said to myself, “Jerene, you idiot!” Would I call God an idiot? Do I revere myself as I would an external God? Can I actually hide my human self from God? These questions beg answers!

And answers I was given.

It was not enough for God to just be the creator. In order for him to know what it is like to be human, He had to somehow experience His creation. So He sent His son…a part of Himself…to Earth to be 100% human (and also 100% God). Think about that for just a moment. Jesus experienced life as a human,  with all of its trials and hardships. Its temptations.  It’s doubts. (“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” Luke 22:42.) Because of his “100% God” He did not sin, the Bible tells us, but that doesn’t take away the pain that He must have experienced from life itself.  He knew that He was a part of God in a way that no one else understood or could relate to.  He tells  us straight out, that we too, are part of God 20 Once, on being asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, Jesus replied, “The coming of the kingdom of God is not something that can be observed, 21 nor will people say, ‘Here it is,’ or ‘There it is,’ because the kingdom of God is in your midst.” Luke 17:20-22. The Pharisees did not understand it, and most of us don’t get it either.

Yet today….I was given the gift. In those three words: “Revealed in Us.” I hope that I can internalize this gift….and be kinder to myself…and to those around me. So my prayer for us during this season is this:

“Emmanuel. Emmanuel.
His name is called, Emmanuel.
God with us. Revealed in us.
His name is called, Emmanuel.”

