Image

I am obsessed with image of the Madonna and Child. I just finished this smaller mixed media piece this morning. I call it “There is No Rose of Such Virtue Than is the Rose that Bare Jesu.” From the lyrics of a Sting song on the cd ” If on a Winter’s Night”.

I think that my obsession doesn’t have as much to do with Mary and Jesus, (although there is part of that) but more of the relationship between a mother and a child. Those moments when we hold them close to our breast and marvel at the wonder of what we have brought forth into the world. The moment when I held my first born for the first time. Matthew was so tiny and I was so afraid! When Kelly was a baby I would lay her on my chest and rock her to sleep at night and sing  her to sleep. When Cody, was born and they laid him on my chest and I was freezing from just having given birth, and he was so warm…..and snuggly.  Like Mary in Luke 2:19 “But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. I, too, treasured up those things…and they bring comfort and warmth to me when I need it the most. It’s a mother thing….

 

 

