A few moments ago, I saw a photo that really touched my soul and sparked my thought process.  (I don’t have permission to repost the photo, and I don’t even know if it was a valid photo or just a photoshop construction.) An army officer faces a group of protesters and says “Please don’t fight on my birthday.”  But instead of fighting, they gave him a birthday cake.

My thought was  “How come we can’t stop fighting then?” The answer? Because we do not know PEACE on a deeply personal, individual level.

We have let ourselves become  “scattered.”   In our race to become the biggest, the brightest, the most successful…(which includes having the most “toys”, having the smartest kids, having the most talented kids,) we have  “pieced” ourselves out until we KNOW NO PEACE. We forget that there is healing energy available to us in communion with nature. We forget that there is peace in the quietness of meditation and prayer. And worse  yet, we have not taught these things to our children. How can we expect them to learn them if we don’t teach it to them?

A couple of weeks ago, I was watching Super Soul Sunday and saw Oprah interviewing Michael Singer, who wrote a book called “The Untethered Soul.” I have not yet read the book, but its on my list. However, Mr. Singer talked about some things that really resonated with me. So,  after digesting some of his ideas,  and letting them marinate with my own thoughts, I have some ideas about why we don’t stop fighting, and how we could. (But it won’t be easy.)

I think that each of us has two voices in our head. One is silent, but knowing, and the other chatters constantly. The voice that “chatters” and sends out thousands of thoughts all day long is our ego. Ego is based upon assumptions and experiences and perspective. All of which are very subjective and, for the most part, untrue.

The silent voice, is our authentic self, that which comes from our Source. Our soul, if you  will. That part is pure love and peace. It HAS all the answers to the questions that our ego will ask, but seldom can we quiet the ego enough to let the answer come from our soul. A question we might ask when presented with a situation, (and comes from Neale Donald Walsch in his “Conversation with God” series) is “What would Love do now?”

Take a deep breath and notice what is in this moment right NOW.  Become aware of the trees, the grass, the beautiful sky, and the wonderful palette that the Creator has used in giving us such a wonderful planet. Feel the energy coming from the Earth itself, and pull that strength into you. Sit in the quiet….and take a “mental step back” and notice that your thoughts have been controlling you, not you controlling  your thoughts. And then teach these things to  your children. I promise you, this is the best gift  you can give them. Ever.

And once we have a world, where all beings learn to be peaceful on the inside…..
“Imagine all the people living life in peace
you may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us And the world will be as one.”–John Lennon

