My neighbor pulled up next to me as I was getting out of the car last night. She is such a sweet elderly lady.  She looked so stressed and her normal smile was strained. When I asked her how she was, she told me that she was okay but the house seemed very empty.  We held hands for a bit, and I told her that if she ever needed anything, to give me a call.

When I got in the house, I searched online, and found my worst fears confirmed. Her husband had passed away some time ago, and I had not known.  He was such a wonderful man, and the truth be told, I had sort of a crush on him. Along with his kindness, strength, and integrity, he had reminded me of my childhood hero, Roy Rogers.

How does one cope with such  a loss?  They had eloped at an early age, and had been married for 60+ years!  My heart is so broken for her. I had nothing. No words of comfort.  I suspect that she is beyond being comforted, and probably lives with the hope of being with him again soon. And what a joyous day that will be!

Myself…I am sad that the world is without such a man, but so grateful that I knew him for such a short time…..

