I have had someone in my thoughts lately. A lady that I don’t know very well, but I know she is starting a difficult path. Her husband, whom I don’t know well either is in the early stages of dementia. Although I am by no means an expert on the subject, I have read much and I lived with someone with dementia for two  years, so I do have some thoughts about it, and I know how difficult it can be.

There are things that I would like to tell her, except that I just don’t think I know her well enough to know if she would “appreciate” what I have to say.  I am sure she has heard the “realistic” side of it from others and from doctor’s, so I have no need to say those things, but this is what I would say:

This is  your turn to shine.

This journey will bring you many opportunities to bring out the best in you in difficult situations. You will have times when you will feel sad, and hurt, and cheated, and angry, but in those moments….if you can choose to love unselfishly and remember how God would respond, I promise you that in the long run you will know gratitude and love that knows NO bounds.

Oh, one more thing...NEVER NEVER NEVER think you are alone. People love you and care about you more than  you know or possibly imagine.  God doesn’t promise us an easy road but he does promise us “I will never leave you or forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

And if you need  help….ask.

