“But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.”–Luke 2:19

This little slice of scripture…these 13 little words…hold the essence of motherhood in them.  As a mother myself, I have those secret little memories….those tiny little conversations between my children and I.  I “treasured” them up to keep for times when I would need the love that those moments contained.

Cody…newborn….being laid on my chest by the doctor….and that deep feeling of awe and joy at the precious thing I just brought into the world.  Cody…about the age of 2…holding an oreo in his hand and laughing at the pure pleasure of having a cookie.  Holding Cody in church, his one arm wrapped around my neck his fingers twisting in the back of my hair. LOL…Cody standing between the pews making the sign of the cross when Pastor Frank did! Cody coming up to me as a full grown man and wrapping his arms around me and telling me he missed me.

Kelly…still in the womb…kicking the heck out of me.  Kelly…a little infant…laying in my arms as I sang to her and rocked her to sleep. Kelly …as a little girl in the pretty red and white checked pinafore I had made for her for Christmas…leaning up to kiss Santa (Grandpa Dunn) on Christmas.  Kelly as a middle school girl…standing up before an auditorium of people and belting out a love song in a voice I didn’t even know she had! Kelly as a full grown woman saying.. I Love you, Momma.

Matthew as a tiny premature baby…laying in an incubator…and me standing at the nursery window because I had been released from the hospital but he had to stay.  Matthew, my first born, sleeping peacefully in his bassinet, and I waking up every hour to check and make sure he was still breathing.  Matthew as a small child…sleeping next to me with his arms wrapped around my neck.  Matthew as a little boy, and I curled up on my mom and dad’s bed watching The Wonderful World of Disney….and he laying their peacefully watching tv as I fell asleep. Matthew as a full grown man,  hearing me say something that someone had done to me and hearing him ask me if I wanted him to go kick his a$$.  Matthew as a full grown man telling me I love you Mom.

All of these things are treasured up. And to think that Mary had done the same thing with her son, Jesus.  Even as he was growing up…the memories that she must have held close! Jesus learning to walk….running….playing…being HUMAN. All the things that mothers remember, and then to have to watch him distance himself, turn to his Father, leave her family to travel, and then….worse thing of all…to see him on trial and convicted, beaten, and bleeding and THEN nailed to a tree….how did she bear it? How could she?

7 It [ love] always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1Corinthians 13

Blessed is she among women!

