I have “stumbled” upon something that is very comforting to me. Deadlines and goals have always worked for me to keep me focused on the job, but it wasn’t until the past few days that I have found that structure brings a good measure of peace to me.

Haiku. Those of you who know me through Facebook know that I occasionally will post a piece of Haiku. Haiku is a Japanese lyric verse that consists of three lines: five syllables, seven syllables, and five syllables. As a result of its strict structure, Haiku lends to very creative thinking. How can I say what I am feeling in 17 short syllables? The search for the shortest word to convey the most meaning definately has the ability to take my mind off other…less desirable paths.

I made a mistake in the newsletter, and I found out about it this evening at church.  Intellectually, I know I am only human, and that I make mistakes, but I found myself really beating myself up about this mistake. So much so, that I was on the verge of tears on the way home. I asked God for some peace and to help me change my thoughts.   Noticing that it was twilight, my favorite time of day, I started composing a haiku in my head. I count on my fingers the number of each syllables as I think of a line. In doing so…I found myself relaxing. My self-loathing slipped away and I was brought to the peace of that very moment.  And the haiku came:

“Night air caresses. Cedar and rain ease my pain. Twilight soothes my soul.”

I gave thanks to my creator…for sharing his creative energy…and for bringing “the peace that passes all understanding” to my heart and my mind. It was a very good ride home 🙂

